Review: The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

18660447

Summary:

When Gia Montgomery’s boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she’d been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriend—two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley.

The problem is that days after prom, it’s not the real Bradley she’s thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn’t even know. But tracking him down doesn’t mean they’re done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend’s graduation party—three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.

Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship.

My Thoughts:

I’m not sure that Kasie West can do wrong when it comes to a contemporary romance.

This was my 3rd Kasie West book to read and I think it’s my new favorite so far (This one, PS I Like You, By Your Side–in that order). I’m anticipating reading her future as well as the other older titles I still haven’t read.

Anyways, one thing about Kasie’s books is that the synopsis never makes them seem as good as they really are. For example, the synopsis for this sounds super cheesy. Not even going to lie about it.

Either way, I thought the concept was cute even if the synopsis sounded cheesy, so I was glad it ended up working out in my favor.

I don’t want to say much for the sake of spoilers, but the character development for Gia was great for me. I loved seeing how she grew and changed as a person.

Her ending was almost exactly what I wanted. My only complaint is that I wish there was an epilogue. Maybe something telling what happens over the summer or once she gets to college. However, I get that it was probably best left the way it was.

This would be a great summertime beach read because it reads quickly, but I’m glad that I didn’t wait that long to read it. I own two of her older books and haven’t read them, so I’m looking forward to getting to them soon as well as her upcoming book in July, Lucky in Love.

-M