This is Where it Ends

Quick note:

I KNOW I didn’t post a single thing in September. I’ve been BUSY, y’all…not with writing obviously, but with other stuff. I did cool stuff in September too like meet Sarah J Maas! …but I just wasn’t feeling writing.

Either way, it’s been a weird few months, but I’m planning to have a full October including two blog tour stops that I’m excited about.

So…let’s get October started even though it’s 6 days in.

41jhpquwu-l-_sx329_bo1204203200_

Summary:

The #1 New York Times Bestseller!

Everyone has a reason to fear the boy with the gun.

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told from four perspectives over the span of 54 harrowing minutes, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.

#1 Young Adult Debut of 2016
A Publishers Weekly Bestseller
Winter ’15 Kids Indie Next List
Goodreads YA Best Books of the Month
Buzzfeed 5 YA Books You Should Be Reading This January
Bustle.com 18 of 2016’s Most-Anticipated YA Novels
BookRiot 15 Books out in 2016 You Should Mark Down Now

My Thoughts:

I hate to write a negative review. I really, really do.

That said, I couldn’t finish this.

I did try really hard to finish, but it just didn’t happen for me.

Let me begin by saying that I usually am all over a book with multiple points of view. For some reason I find them more interesting.

This book though….maybe it was just me, but I couldn’t connect to any of these characters. It’s awful to even say, but I wasn’t concerned about how it would end to know what happened with these characters. (I’m not terrible- I didn’t want them to get shot! I just didn’t care to keep reading and find out.)

Further- the timeline. The present story takes place over 54 minutes. That’s great and would be a neat concept if we didn’t need SO MUCH BACKSTORY.

I’m normally one that likes the story built up, but this time made the story drag on and on for me- maybe because there were 4 stories to focus on.

This is just not a book that I would overall recommend…and I was excited for it!

I’m sure lots of people would enjoy it, and I heard good things about it prior to its release, but it just wasn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

