Finally found a cure…

So I finally finished a book.

It took me longer than I would normally liked, but I finally got engrossed in a story enough to finish.

It’s felt like this has been my longest reading slump in awhile and I hate to be wasting valuable reading time in the summer, but it is what it is.

With that said….I finally read A Darker Shade of Magic.

51-CraQeweL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

Summary:

STEP INTO A UNIVERSE OF DARING ADVENTURE, THRILLING POWER, AND MULTIPLE LONDONS.

Kell is one of the last Travelers-magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel universes, connected by one magical city.

There’s Grey London, dirty and boring, without any magic, and with one mad king-George III. Red London, where life and magic are revered-and where Kell was raised alongside Rhys Maresh, the rougish heir to a flourishing empire. White London-a place where people fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. And once upon a time, there was Black London. But no one speaks of that now.

Officially, Kell is the Red Traveler, ambassador of the Maresh empire, carrying the monthly correspondences between the royals of each London. Unofficially, Kell is a smuggler, servicing people willing to pay for even the smallest glimpses of a world they’ll never see. It’s a defiant hobby with dangerous consequences, which Kell is now seeing firsthand.

Fleeing into Grey London, Kell runs into Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She first robs him, then saves him from a deadly enemy, and finally forces Kell to spirit her to another world for a proper adventure.

Now perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, they’ll first need to stay alive.

My Thoughts:

I was hooked. That’s all I can really say.

In the beginning, I wasn’t really sure where the book was going, but once it got started then I was completely IN.

I loved the writing style and the world was unique.

I’d easily suggest ADSOM to other adults who loved Harry Potter growing up and need a dose of magic in their reading lives.

However, the interesting thing to me about the book is that although it is going to be a trilogy (book 2 is already out and #3 is out next year), the book wraps itself up. Sure, there is still open ended things, but it could have stood alone if it needed. Granted, I’m sure the next book will have a cliffhanger, but I loved how this book wrapped the story up enough to not have a huge cliffhanger.

I’ve already started A Gathering of Shadows and look forward to more from Kell and Lila.

Funny story, I bought AGoS in HC earlier this week while on vacation in Pigeon Forge. Yesterday I realized I’d bought a signed copy even though the book did not have an “autographed” sticker on it. Little “win” of the week, I suppose.

One thought on “Finally found a cure…

  1. This series sounds so brilliant and I feel like such a lame duck for not having gotten on it yet! I’m glad to hear you were hooked on it too, but it doesn’t surprise me…all the book bloggers I follow have loved it to pieces!

Leave a Reply

