Review: When We Collided

51SpcgHPCzL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Summary:

Seventeen year-old Jonah Daniels has lived in Verona Cove, California, his whole life, and only one thing has ever changed: his father used to be alive, and now he is not. With a mother lost in a deep bout of depression, Jonah and his five siblings struggle to keep up their home and the restaurant their dad left behind. But at the start of summer, a second change rolls in: Vivi Alexander, the new girl in town.

Vivi is in love with life. Charming and unfiltered, she refuses to be held down by the medicine she’s told should make her feel better. After meeting Jonah, she slides into the Daniels’ household seamlessly, winning over each sibling with her imagination and gameness. But it’s not long before Vivi’s zest for life begins to falter. Soon her adventurousness becomes all-out danger-seeking.

Through each high and low, Vivi and Jonah’s love is put to the test . . . but what happens when love simply isn’t enough?


My Thoughts:

First…WHEN WE COLLIDED RELEASES NEXT WEEK!!!!

200-4

Phew…enough partying…on to business.

I adored When We Collided. I’m always wary when I’m REALLY excited for a book because I’m scared that it won’t be nearly as great as I’m hoping. That said, I was scared going into this one because I LOVE Emery Lord’s past two books.

So, I did what any sane person would do…I didn’t even read the summary going into it.

Seriously.

I’m not going to lie, I wish that I HAD read the summary just so that I might have been a tiny bit prepared for what was about to happen to my heart.

So many books try hard to talk about mental illness and just come up short no matter how hard they might try.

This book though…it honestly hits the nail right on the head.

Sometimes people have problems for no reason at all. Sometimes they can bounce back- sometimes not. People get told to “get over it and move on.” There are so many ways to look at mental illness correctly and incorrectly. This gets it 200% CORRECT. We see both sides with the struggle and with outsiders learning how to respond to those that they love and it is just…beautiful.

I hate to say it, but I can relate to the descriptions of depression in the book, so I know how accurate the descriptions of feeling “nothing” are despite having no problems that SHOULD make one feel that way.

This is just such an important book and I can’t wait until the fall so that I can immediately purchase it for my library. I know tons of kids will be able to relate to the characters aside from the areas surrounding mental illness. These characters are living REAL lives that teens will be able to connect with!

Do yourself a huge favor and get When We Collided when it releases next week!

-Melanie

4 thoughts on “Review: When We Collided

  1. Sarah Cone says:

    Excellent. I’m beyond thankful that this book accurately portrays & deals with mental illness. I wish there had been a book when I was a teen that had helped me feel understood & represented… And maybe not so alone in my struggles.
    This is definitely going on my TBR. Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

