Movie Review: Deadpool

MV5BMjQyODg5Njc4N15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMzExMjE3NzE@._V1_SY317_CR1,0,214,317_AL_

Summary:

A former Special Forces operative turned mercenary is subjected to a rogue experiment that leaves him with accelerated healing powers, adopting the alter ego Deadpool.

My Thoughts:

First of all, welcome to my first movie review that doesn’t have to do with a book. Okay, there’s the comics, but still. Should I have even put that little summary? Everyone should know about Deadpool because the movie had a HUGE release.

I’m a fan of the character, so I was among the many people people who have been waiting for the movie for ages. I can’t really explain my excitement even, but it was unreal.

Now to the important things: Ryan Reynolds doesn’t just play Deadpool. Ryan Reynolds IS Deadpool. He was absolutely PERFECT. I knew going into it that it was either going to be perfect or awful. There wasn’t going to be a middle ground, but it worked.

Sure, the language was terrible and it had some rough content, but guess what- that’s exactly how the character is. All of the “inappropriate” stuff is exactly how he is.

With that in mind, everything worked like it should have.

My only complaint is WHY on earth are there still parents that are taking their YOUNG children to see it? It is entirely inappropriate for most children. Sure some teens under 17 would probably be okay – I get how teens are these days- but it shouldn’t be for kids or younger teens.

Parents- use discretion and DON’T take your children if they’re under at LEAST 15. This isn’t a typical Marvel film as the media has pointed out countless times.

But, to those who see it, ENJOY! You’re in for a hilarious, though gorey movie!

-Melanie

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Deadpool

  1. I haven’t seen this one yet, but I really want to! I’m not a huge marvel fan (I don’t hate it, I’ve just not really seen many of the films), but the fact that Deadpool’s an anti-hero (and pansexual!) makes me want to see it. I hope I will like it!

    Denise | The Bibliolater

Leave a Reply

