Monday Musings: book to movie adaptations

Movie time!

Once upon a time, I had a rule for myself that I wouldn’t see a movie if I hadn’t read the book first.

Then I decided that I don’t have time for that.

I can’t remember what started, but eventually it turned into a “come what may” sort of rule. —Maybe I finished the book, but maybe I didn’t even get to start it.

I’m not sure why, but I finally realized that it didn’t matter.

First off all, there are normally a lot of changes that are made anyways. I’m never one of those people who gets in a big fuss over changes. (Maybe that will change when producers adapt a series that I LOVE. So far there hasn’t been anything that I majorly care for.

Next, I can actually be surprised. I remember seeing Fault in our Stars and everyone crying. There was me…looking like I don’t have a heart at all. Oops?

The catch was this: I knew what was coming. Sure, I was sad when I read it, but I knew what to expect in the movie, so it wasn’t sad.

Or maybe I just don’t have a heart, right?

Anyways, I say all of this to say…don’t stress it. Read the book before…read it after…heck, just watch the movie if you want. 9/10 they’re an entirely different game anyways, so do what you want!

Also, enjoy the show! There are lots of book adaptations coming out this year!

-Melanie

 

Leave a Reply

