Review: Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

20151127_134352

Book Summary:

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson—from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine—Dumplin’ is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . .  until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.


My Thoughts:

Dumplin’ is SO SO SO important!

That’s my first thought and the most lasting.

I started hearing about this book back in May of 2015 through advertisements at RT Convention in Dallas, TX. I thoughts the ads looked fun, but didn’t know much about the premise of the book.

Fast forward a few months and the hype for it was EVERYWHERE. I finally bought a copy in November, read it last week, and fell in love.

Dumplin’ is entirely worth the hype it has received. Furthermore, it needs even MORE hype. I got it at work and haven’t pushed it nearly as much as I should have because I hadn’t read it yet. (Get ready, school…this is my next “READ THIS” obsession that I’ll be pushing.)

I constantly found myself cheering for Willowdean’s actions and waiting for what she would do next. This girl is a role model that today’s teen girls definitely need to read about!

Parents, teachers, librarians: Get this book and encourage your teens to read it ASAP! Willowdean provides a HUGELY important message on self-acceptance that the world desperately needs!

And now…I have no idea what to read next because I loved this so much.

-Melanie

 

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Review: Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s