Monday Musings: Debuts!

Debut Authors

With the year drawing to a close, I looked back at the books I’ve read this year. First- I should note that I set a small goal of 45 books and I lack 2 making that goal. I’m going to make it after all! Next year I’m thinking of bumping it up to 50. I try to keep it reasonable, but yet still something that I have to stretch to reach, but that’s not the point of my post.

My point is…DEBUT AUTHORS!

When looking at the list of what I read (and LOVED!) this year, I noticed that I read several books from debut authors. These books also ended up being in my favorites of the year. So without further delay…here’s my top books that were from debut authors:

wrathandthedawn

Until this weekend I was saying that this was my favorite book of the year, and it IS a close call, but I’m obsessed with this Wrath and the Dawn. I can’t believe this is Renee’s first book and can’t wait for Rose and the Dagger to release in May.

How To Be Brave

The cover to this is simple. SO SIMPLE. In fact, I almost overlooked it when it was offered up from the publisher. I’m so glad that I gave it a chance because it was such a good story!

firstandthen

Contemporary with Jane Austen elements—need I say more? ❤

everythingeverything

THIS. BOOK. If anything beats Wrath and the Dawn as my favorite book of 2015 then this MIGHT be it. CRAZY GOOD. I had a hard time putting it down! An actual review is coming Wednesday, but I just can’t believe this is Nicola’s first book. I can’t wait to see what she does next!


 

Obviously 2015 was a great year for strong debut authors. I’m so excited to see what each of these ladies put out next and anticipate it being even better than these amazing books!

-Melanie

4 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Debuts!

  1. Melanie, you’re so right–2015 really was a glorious year for debut YA authors. Everything Everything is coming up soon on my TBR and I’m excited to read it. What were some of the things you really liked about Everything Everything?

Leave a Reply

