Monday Musings

Greetings from Nashville, TN!

Hey, y’all! I’m currently spending my 4th consecutive Thanksgiving week in beautiful Nashville! Last week, I talked about which bookstores I was planning to visit, so later this week I’ll be sharing my friends from book shopping in Nashville.

But First!

I shared that last week I had two orders come in at my library. In those orders, I had several books come in that I have read and was very excited to get in and share with my students.

One of those books was The Wrath and the Dawn!

wrathandthedawn

I’m not sure that I ever posted a review for Wrath, but I read it back in June and it is still my favorite thing I’ve read all year. The back story was phenomenal and had so much depth and…it has a MAP!

A kid immediately checked it out this week and then commented that she knew it was going to be good because she noticed that it had a map when she opened. I thought it was funny, because I always think the same thing when I read fantasy.

In fact, I had the same thought for Wrath (and was right…it was awesome!). I recently started Throne of Glass and had the same thought when I saw the map at the beginning.  Granted, I’m not done with that one, but so far so good…my theory still stands: Books that have maps have better world building and tend to be better overall.

Has anyone else noticed this or is it just me and my one kid at work?

-Melanie

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings

  1. I definitely agree about the map thing. I’m a very visual person so having a map helps me imagine and really see this amazing fantasy world! When there’s no map and characters are talking about different countries or traveling etc. I’m like “ahhhh”; how big are the countries relative to each other, is it north, south, east, west, how far has this character traveled!

Leave a Reply

