Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

november9

Summary:


Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

Can Ben’s relationship with Fallon—and simultaneously his novel—be considered a love story if it ends in heartbreak?


My Thoughts:

It’s no surprise that I’m a huge fan of Colleen Hoover’s writing. In fact, I don’t read a lot of New Adult, but she is still an auto-buy for me. So much so- that I pre-ordered November 9 back in March when it was first put up for sale. Once Colleen began releasing teaser quotes, I was done. I was excited about the idea and I needed to know how all of the different pieces fit together.

When it arrived on my Kindle Tuesday I immediately started reading. Normally Colleen’s books are one-sitting reads for me. That’s actually difficult because I have a short attention span and am all over the place when I read. However, this time I couldn’t read in one sitting because- well- I was at work. I can’t do two things at once.

I finished on Wednesday (I tried really hard to stay up all night with it Tuesday, but fell asleep trying.) and went through every emotion possible. At one point, I had my usual CoHo reaction of “WHAT” and dropped my kindle to my lap and had to just stare at the page thinking “did that really just happen??” I have that moment with all of her books, but this one seemed to hit especially hard.

One fun thing in November 9 was different book and writing references. I think this actually made the couple more fun and relatable. Maybe I’m just a book nerd and that made it hit hard- either way, it was a fun addition that made me like the couple even more.

All in all- I’ve read and enjoyed everything Colleen has released up to this point. For the longest time, Hopeless, was my favorite book from her.  That’s the first I read from Colleen, yet I think I may finally have a new favorite in Fallon and Ben’s story.

There were parts that made me smile, made me angry, and made me speechless, but overall, this may have easily won as being my favorite….at least until her next book!

Leave a Reply

