Review: Vengeance Road

23719270

Book Info:

Revenge is worth its weight in gold.

When hers father is murdered for a journal revealing the location of a hidden gold mine, eighteen-year-old Kate Thompson disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers—and justice. What she finds are untrustworthy strangers, endless dust and heat, and a surprising band of allies, among them a young Apache girl and a pair of stubborn brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, a startling truth becomes clear: some men will stop at nothing to get their hands on gold, and Kate’s quest for revenge may prove fatal.

Released: September 1, 2015

Publisher: HMH Books For Young Readers

Length: 336 pages

My Thoughts:

The first book series I ever became completely obsessed with was the Little House on the Prairie books when I was in 2nd and 3rd grade. I was completely fascinated with the Old West tales of survival and the general way of life  in that time period.

Nowadays, I don’t read a lot of things about that time, but I do still appreciate it. With that said, I’ve been SO excited about Vengeance Road and I’m happy that I finally took the time to read it. A young adult western? Yes, please!

First, I’d never read anything by Erin Bowman, so I couldn’t anticipate it based on anything she’d written before. I kind of enjoyed have a completely fresh take on an author who had books already published. I’d probably even read her others even though they’re nothing like Vengeance.

True to form of a western, there was plenty of excitement that rarely ever let up. I was always worried that the “bad guy” would be around the corner just waiting to make his next move. I love the evolving relationships between Kate, Will, and Jesse. They changed in a way that wasn’t too fast or too drawn out.

My only complaint is that there was a small part about 3/4 where I was ready for everything to be dissolved. It wasn’t that I didn’t like that part, but it did slow down for me to the point of wanting more excitement to happen. Other than that, it never let up and always had me interested.

I highly suggest checking it out, especially if you’re looking for something a little different!

-M

Leave a Reply

