Review: Vivian Apple at the End of the World

vivianapple

Book Info:

Seventeen-year-old Vivian Apple never believed in the evangelical Church of America, unlike her recently devout parents. But when Vivian returns home the night after the supposed “Rapture,” all that’s left of her parents are two holes in the roof. Suddenly, she doesn’t know who or what to believe. With her best friend Harp and a mysterious ally, Peter, Vivian embarks on a desperate cross-country roadtrip through a paranoid and panic-stricken America to find answers. Because at the end of the world, Vivan Apple isn’t looking for a savior. She’s looking for the truth.

Published: January 6, 2015

Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers

Length: 272 pages

My Thoughts:

I loved this book! I’d easily give it 3.5/5 stars!

First, I like books that go into cults or religion. I don’t know why, but they always interest me. Vivian came home from a “rapture eve” party to find two holes in the ceiling and her believer parents missing.

I will say that the only thing that bumped Vivian Apple down for me is that it did somewhat drag a little in the middle. The beginning and the last quarter of the book had me crazily hooked, but parts of the middle had me fighting to keep my attention focused on the book.

Still- GREAT story.

Vivian and Harp are such a great duo and I loved their friendship and banters back-and-forth.

The reveals at the end left me with questions, so I’m glad that the second book is already out, but I really don’t even know where the book could be going. I can’t say much more on that without spoilers, so I NEED someone else to read this so I can discuss my ideas. Where is this series going??

Read it. Love it. Help me make sense of my emotions about it?

-M

2 thoughts on “Review: Vivian Apple at the End of the World

Leave a Reply

