Drama with substance! + HELP!

The ever (not to ME…) intriguing “drama” books.

WHY?

I get the appeal. Really, I do.

They’re meant for high interest-low level. I get it.

BUT WHY?

Here’s my main issue….wait!

I am NOT judging students by what they like to read. I promise I’m not. I’m happy they’re reading!

Okay now back to my point…I get that “drama” books, as my students call them, are close to reality for many of today’s teens. I understand. However, I also don’t really want them to think the rough lifestyles and poor choices found in those books are okay. I’m GLAD that they think they can relate to the characters in those books, but…I wish they’d aim higher? Is that terrible?

Here’s my aim…there is realistic fiction (oh, hey…look, y’all…that genre has a NAME!) that is both well-written AND still relatable. Personally, I also don’t want to read realistic or contemporary fiction that doesn’t seem, well….realistic. This is why we NEED diversity, y’all. I want these kids to have characters that they can relate to, but that aren’t miles beneath them in style and content. I love me some contemporary romance, but I need those stories to also have a broader range of characters at time that the average high school teenager can relate to.

Is that too much to ask?

What are some of your favorite contemporaries that I can get students hooked on?

-M

3 thoughts on “Drama with substance! + HELP!

  1. Hmm, not sure about students. I would think Patrick Ness would have an audience. The Throne of Glass series is sure bangin’, too. I’m not sure my usual reads are something that would scream for an audience from your students.

    • I like those…and I have a few that love them. I’m needing realistic fiction that they can relate to though. It’s rough. Most kids will take my suggestions even if it is different from their normal picks…and they end up loving them! But a few…oh, the few. They refuse to leave the books that they always want. I’m glad they’re reading, but I wish they’d find contemporary fiction that is still well written.

      • What about Margaret Atwood’s books? They seem to be a gateway into contemporary fiction. That and maybe some of King’s more “non scary” books like 11/22/63.

Leave a Reply

