To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

51GdayQh-uL

Book Info:

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them…all at once?

Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

Release date: April 2014

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

My Thoughts:

Honestly, when I started reading, I thought there would be more to deal with the fall out of the letters being mailed out. Maybe a big ordeal that involved the entire school? No idea, but I did not fully expect what I got. That’s not to say that I didn’t like how the story played out.

First of all, I loved Lara Jean. YA needs more of her. A dorky, good girl. LOVE HER. Like, I feel like I was her in high school even? Minus the letter writing…it was cute in the story, but it’d be a bit too dorky in real life. Her idea of the letters was sweet, but I even felt bad for her with them. Girl, TELL PEOPLE HOW YOU FEEL!

Ultimately though, that was the point. Lara Jean has to grow up and tell how she feels and not hide behind her feelings.

SUCH a great story and I’m already dying to read book two, PS I Still Love You. I hope that she is able to work everything out from the last book. Either way, I’m rooting for her.

In all, I’d highly recommend this to someone who is a Sarah Dessen fan. Lara Jean and her situation reminded me so much of some of the cute stories in those books.

-M

Leave a Reply

