Book Review: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

23341894

Book Info:

If you could read my mind, you wouldn’t be smiling.

Samantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can’t turn off.

Second-guessing every move, thought, and word makes daily life a struggle, and it doesn’t help that her lifelong friends will turn toxic at the first sign of a wrong outfit, wrong lunch, or wrong crush. Yet Sam knows she’d be truly crazy to leave the protection of the most popular girls in school. So when Sam meets Caroline, she has to keep her new friend with a refreshing sense of humor and no style a secret, right up there with Sam’s weekly visits to her psychiatrist.

Caroline introduces Sam to Poet’s Corner, a hidden room and a tight-knit group of misfits who have been ignored by the school at large. Sam is drawn to them immediately, especially a guitar-playing guy with a talent for verse, and starts to discover a whole new side of herself. Slowly, she begins to feel more “normal” than she ever has as part of the popular crowd . . . until she finds a new reason to question her sanity and all she holds dear.

Released: June 16, 2015

My Thoughts:

First of all, I’ve read TONS of things in the 6 months since my last update…TONS. But for some reason, I’ve been too side-tracked to remember to blog since I swapped to a different school in January and was also teaching two classes of junior English aside from just being the librarian. Life was nuts. Then, a few days ago, I was discussing books with a friend and said that I missed blogging about them…and I do! So I’m planning to back track a bit to be able to think about some of the books I read recently and then also HOPEFULLY continue back writing.

THAT SAID…I got an ARC  of this book a few months ago on Netgalley and instantly loved it. I enjoyed Tamara’s first two books (check the archives here for those reviews) and was looking forward to this one. Every Last Word finally released this week and I’ve loved seeing other people post about it.

In my time between reading and the release this week I thought I was going to explode with spoilers to a friend. Then…we went to RT back in May and she was able to get an ARC from Tamara at the Book Fair signing. She was SO excited because of how much I’d talked about ELW and because she’d also loved Time Between Us.

But still…I loved Every Last Word! I just thought it was going to be about a girl starting to write poetry. I had no idea that I was about to take my feelings through the ringer. I was surprised by parts of the book and had no idea how I missed certain things. What the heck happened to my emotions??
So good!

In all seriousness though, I highly suggest ELW to anyone who write poetry or who suffers with, or know someone who suffers with, OCD. This would be a great starting point for a conversation on the topic!

-M

One thought on “Book Review: Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

Leave a Reply

