Book Review: Wonder by RJ Palacio

415EAjgeE+L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Book Info:

 February 14, 2012  8 – 12  3 – 7

The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller that has captivated over 1 million readers now also includes the bestselling short story The Julian Chapter.

I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse. 

August Pullman was born with a facial difference that, up until now, has prevented him from going to a mainstream school. Starting 5th grade at Beecher Prep, he wants nothing more than to be treated as an ordinary kid—but his new classmates can’t get past Auggie’s extraordinary face. WONDER, now a #1 New York Times bestseller and included on the Texas Bluebonnet Award master list, begins from Auggie’s point of view, but soon switches to include his classmates, his sister, her boyfriend, and others. These perspectives converge in a portrait of one community’s struggle with empathy, compassion, and acceptance.

My Thoughts:

I’m back I’m back I’m back! I hit a lull in my reading habits, but I’m back in full force all of a sudden.

It took me ages to finally get around to reading Wonder. I wish that I’d read it sooner because it absolutely lived up to the hype. I don’t frequently read Middle Grade books, but this one was definitely worthy of reading. As a middle school librarian, I can see why teachers have been using this book in classrooms and promoting it like crazy. I GET Auggie. I know of a student who constantly gets made of because of appearance, but yet, that same student has no trouble keeping friends once others try to know him. Granted, this kid is nothing like Auggie’s situation, but it shows me how cruel students can be. I’m thankful for those like Summer and Jack who choose to be friends due to inward appearance instead of outside. Everyone needs to be that way.

Wonder is beautiful. Just beautiful. I suggest it to students, teachers, teenagers, adults…EVERYONE. Everyone has something to learn from Auggie and his view on the world.

Also, Auggie is right—Everyone deserves a standing ovation at least once in life!

-M

Leave a Reply

