Review: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

41BzvVl1xcL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Book Info:

 February 26, 2013
Publisher: MacMillan
Length: 328 pages

Bono met his wife in high school, Park says.
So did Jerry Lee Lewis, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be, she says, we’re 16.
What about Romeo and Juliet?
Shallow, confused, then dead.

I love you, Park says.
Wherefore art thou, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be.

Set over the course of one school year in 1986, this is the story of two star-crossed misfits—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love—and just how hard it pulled you under.

My Thoughts:

5/5 stars *****

 

That summary tells nothing whatsoever about the book. Nothing. It certainly doesn’t tell how extremely painful of a story Eleanor and Park have.

Absolutely heartbreaking, yet heart warming at the same time. Is that even possible? I put off reading Eleanor & Park for awhile, but I finally gave it a shot. I read it off and on during the day and had only made it to maybe page 30 or so. I picked it up around 10pm to read until I fell asleep. I wasn’t able to stop until I finished a little before 1am. Absolutely gorgeous story. E&P was nothing like the other book I’d read from Rainbow Rowell, Fangirl. I’m so glad that I didn’t know much about the story going into it. So good!

I honestly just can’t even process how much this book hurt. The characters and setting just felt so real. Rainbow always has a way of making her characters that believable. That’s what I loved so much when I read Fangirl. This is definitely one of those YA books that just ends up making the rest of the genre look bad because of what it does. I haven’t read either of Rowell’s adult novels yet, but if they’re anything like E&P and Fangirl I know that I’ll love them.

-Melanie

3 thoughts on “Review: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I just didn’t give this book a chance. The bomb-load of f-words on the first page turned me off, but I’m seeing 5-star reviews everywhere I look. Thanks for your confirmation. I definitely need to go back and try this again.

    • Honestly? That ALMOST turned me away too. I’m not a big fan of loads of profanity being in my books at all. However, as a teacher, I get that the language is way more realistic to what teens hear these days. I don’t necessarily like that…but I know that it is a reality. Try to read it and look past the language if you can. The story is amazing if you manage to do so.

Leave a Reply

