Review: Pretties by Scott Westerfield

411-RL8bCuL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

 

Book Summary:

Original releast date: November 11, 2008
In Tally’s world, your 16th birthday brings an operation that turns you from a repellant Ugly into a stunningly attractive Pretty, and catapults you into a high-tech paradise where your only job is having a really good time. Just before her birthday, Tally discovered that turning Pretty comes with a terrible price. She vowed to accept the operation, but with the understanding that her friends on the outside would rescue her, and let her be the guinea pig for the experimental and highly dangerous cure they’re developing.

But in the second book of the Uglies series, Tally’s Pretty. And everything’s changed. The new, Pretty Tally is totally happy right where she is. She doesn’t think she needs any kind of cure at all. When someone from her Ugly life shows up with a message, Tally has a hard time listening. Did she really promise to give all this up? Is she bound by a promise she made when she was a different person? If there is anything left of the old Tally, how will she fight her way out to keep her word and help her friends?

My Thoughts:

4/5

I remember when the Uglies series first began releasing when I was in high school. The shortened summary I saw in advertisements didn’t seem appealing. In fact, all I gathered was “a future where everyone receives and operation to become pretty and flawless.” That sounded boring to me. Not only that, but I never paid the series any attention. (apparently a friend tried to get me to read the series in college, but I don’t remember…maybe I’d already decided not to read it?) Regardless….back of the book summaries are apparently important. Anything I read about Uglies made me not think it sounded good and I was wrong.

That said, Pretties was a great addition to the world that was set up in Uglies. It basically picks up right where we left off in the first book, or rather,  not long after. Tally and another manage to find the cure from the first book and the rest of the book is what ensues after that. There was never a dull moment, but I did get tired of the “pretty” language. I understand why it was there. It was just annoying with everything being “pretty making,” “bubbly,” and “bogus,” among other terms.

Either way, it was a great book and I’m ready to read more. I only wish I had read them earlier!

 

4 thoughts on “Review: Pretties by Scott Westerfield

  1. I adored this book when I read it in high school and I tried re-reading it and I couldn’t get back into it 😦 Super interesting to hear what you thought of it 🙂

      • I’m 21 and had seen the new covers and that perked my attention with it again. Maybe that’s what it was when I tried re-reading it, the “pretty” language gets a bit much.

Leave a Reply

