Book Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Image

My thoughts: 4/5 stars

Whoa. 

I bought Delirium months ago when it was, I think, a daily deal on Kindle. I can’t pass up $1.99 on a book I’ve been wanting to read. Just can’t. 

Anywho, at the time I was pretty much burnt out on all things dystopia. I still am actually, but the hype over the tv pilot being on Hulu got me interested, if only so I could watch the pilot.

I’m SO glad I took a chance on it! Delirium was refreshing and different from other dystopias I’ve read. I love the idea of love being outlawed and considered a disease. Very different!

It did start out slightly slow for me, but it quickly picked up and then I couldn’t put it down. However, I think my favorite thing might have been the pieces of history and laws at the beginning of each chapter. I just like when books do things like that to open each chapter, especially if it gives hints of things to come. 

I will say too that I gave the pilot a go and I think that it had potential, but I can’t see it being on Fox–which I THINK it was it was made for. It would’ve survived on CW or even Mtv for sure though. Plus, there were so many changes! I expect that, but it just seems like a tv show has so much more that it could do in terms of sticking to the story.

…I say that, but I’m hopelessly addicted to Pretty Little Liars and the TV show essentially has NOTHING to do with the books. 

All in all, I’ve already bought book two, so I’m hoping to make it to it before work starts back in August because that ending…THAT ENDING. SO GOOD.

Check it out if you haven’t already!

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Delirium by Lauren Oliver

    • It ended up good, but it had tons of huge changes. I think it was made for Fox and I don’t see how it would have fit in there at all. It would’ve made it on another network for sure.

Leave a Reply

