Book Review: Flat Out Love

51JChu0ZnmL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_-2

Book Summary:

 September 11, 2012
He was tall, at least six feet, with dirty blond hair that hung over his eyes. His T-shirt read Nietzsche Is My Homeboy.

So, that was Matt.  Who Julie Seagle likes. A lot.  But there is also Finn.  Who she flat out loves.

Complicated? Awkward?  Completely.

But really, how was this freshly-minted Boston transplant and newbie college freshman supposed to know that she would end up living with the family of an old friend of her mother’s? This was all supposed to be temporary.  Julie wasn’t supposed to be important to the Watkins family, or to fall in love with one of the brothers.  Especially the one she’s never quite met. But what does that really matter?  Finn gets her, like no one ever has before. They have connection.

But here’s the thing about love, in all its twisty, bumpy permutations—it always throws you a few curves.  And no one ever escapes unscathed.

Extra Info:
  • Print Length: 343 pages
  • Publisher: Skyscape (September 11, 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.

 

My Thoughts:

5/5…more like 10/5??

Flat Out Love is a product of Amazon’s self publishing route. I do not judge anyone who chooses to go the non-traditional route because, honestly, a lot of self-published works end up being miles better than anything that a top publishing company could put out. This is one of those cases.

I assumed for awhile that maybe Celeste is autistic or something like that.

I assumed that Julie would fall for Matt while living there.

I assumed Finn would show up and surprise Julie and the family.

I assumed that the parents were fighting.

All of my assumptions were wrong. Well….sort of.

There are so many layers to this book that I can’t even really process into words what I feel about it without just “flat out” spoiling the story. The development with Julie helping Celeste come out of her shell blew me away. In fact, she helps the entire family really. I couldn’t put my Kindle down because I HAD to know what happened to Celeste and I had to know what the family’s “deal” was. At midnight, I got to a point where I literally said “holy crap” and just stared at my Kindle. I couldn’t believe what was going on. I was stunned. I was in awe of where the story went from that split moment.

All I can say is, GO READ THIS if you haven’t already. Everyone needs that moment that I had with this book. I got it from the Prime lending library, so that is even an option if you don’t have the extra $ to drop for a book. I’m hoping to start the other books ASAP and I hope that they are just as stunning as this one.

-Melanie

Leave a Reply

