Book Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Image

Summary:

 March 24, 2009
The critically acclaimed, bestselling novel from Gayle Forman, author of Where She WentJust One Day, and Just One Year.

Soon to be a major motion picture, starring Chloe Moretz!

In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen ­year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces- to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make. Heartwrenchingly beautiful, this will change the way you look at life, love, and family. Now a major motion picture starring Chloe Grace Moretz, Mia’s story will stay with you for a long, long time.

 

My Thoughts:

I’m that person who refuses to see a movie before I’ve read the book. With that in mind, the trailer for If I stay, seen here, left me absolutely speechless. (Click on “seen here” to go to the trailer). I got the book from my local library and was amazed to see that it is right at 200 pages, so it does not take long to read at all! Mia’s realizations of her family’s deaths are hard hitting and are major impacts on her choice to stay or go. However, it is the love story that makes this even more heart pulling. I can’t wait to see it played out on the big screen. I will say though, I had some issues with the ending. It ends very abruptly and I need more. Does she stay with Adam? Is she okay after the accident? Does she end up going to Julliard after all? I’m assuming maybe these are answered in Book 2, but I was left wondering about it and needing to know. 

In all, this is a quick, easy read that is heartbreaking, but beautifully written. I highly suggest reading it before the movie if only so you’ll know what you’re getting yourself into. 

 

Side note!

Since I’m a teacher, I obviously have the next two summer’s off. I’m looking forward to being able to read more and post more frequently. I’m hoping to even be able to post more than just review posts. Be on the lookout! I’m about to start Dorothy Must Die, so that’ll probably be my next post. Also, next week I’m probably doing a comparison of TFIOS after I see the movie. I’m SO ready for that movie it isn’t funny!

Leave a Reply

