Review: The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

My Review:

51CWMkYriHL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

I already posted a summary, so I won’t repeat that. However, here is my review of this amazing book.

I began reading Laurie Halse Anderson’s books around ten years ago when I first read Speak in the 9th grade. I was blown away by the realism of the novel and the fact that a book could hit that close to reality in terms of personalities and how American schools really are. So many books just pain a caricature of American teens, but Anderson tends to get it right.

With that in mind, I was excited for The Impossible Knife of Memory. The premise of a teen whose dad was struggling with PTSD was different and something that is probably too real of an issue considering the war efforts the last several years. Anderson did not let me down in my excitement. Haley was a brave character who is scared to really let anyone in due to previous abandonments and never settling down in one place for too long. Her father is a mess and Haley does all she can to help, but she can only do so much. Their relationship was heartbreaking to read about and was a major part of why I loved this story.

Then there was Finn. He was perfect and exactly what someone like Haley needed. Regardless, his issues exist as well and lend to why he also needs Haley.

The ending wasn’t quite there for me on the “realistic” scale, but it could also just be that it was not what I expected. Either way, I loved the book as a whole and can’t wait for Anderson to release her next book. She goes too long sometimes for my addiction!

 

Also: May the fourth be with you!

Leave a Reply

