Book Review: Origin by Jessica Khoury

51ulfXIIGxL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Book Summary:

Released: September 4, 2012
Pia has always known her destiny. She is meant to start a new race, a line of descendants who will bring an end to death. She has been bred for no other purpose, genetically engineered to be immortal and raised by a team of scientists in a secret compound hidden deep in the Amazon rainforest. Now those scientists have begun to challenge her, with the goal of training her to carry on their dangerous work.

For as long as she can remember, Pia’s greatest desire has been to fulfill their expectations. But then one night she finds a hole in the impenetrable fence that surrounds her sterile home. Free in the jungle for the first time in her life, Pia meets Eio, a boy from a nearby village. Unable to resist, she continues sneaking out to see him. As they fall in love, they begin to piece together the truth about Pia’s origin—a truth with nothing less than deadly consequences that will change their lives forever.

Origin is a beautifully told, electric new way to look at an age-old desire: to live forever. But is eternal life worth living if you can’t spend it with the one you love?

My Thoughts:

First, I have to share that I also got to meet the author of this book last month on the girls gone sci-fi tour and she was super sweet!

Now to the book…

The concept was original. I’ll definitely give it that. I never really knew what to expect because every idea I had got thrown into the water and proved me wrong.

However, I’m not sure if it was me trying to hurry and figure out what was happening, or the story, but there were some parts where I just wanted to click on and rush the story. This often happens when I’m excited about the story, so I’m not entirely saying this to be negative. Honestly, I’m not!

Next, the book is meant to be a stand alone. So, the “next” book, Vitro, is loosely related, but not at all related. I’m bummed. I want more from Pia and Eio. I haven’t read Vitro yet, so I don’t even know if they’re mentioned, but I’m assuming no? I hope so, but I doubt it as that defeats the point of a stand alone. At the very least, I want an epilogue of sorts or SOMETHING! I need to know the rest of their story. WHAT HAPPENS NEXT??

I highly recommend Origin…it is Sci-Fi without being TOO Sci-Fi. Vitro sounds like it is more Science-y, so I’m pumped to read it soon and see how, if at all, it connects to the events in Origin.

-M

*Bet no one believed me when I said another post was coming so soon, huh??

 

Leave a Reply

