Update on my week

Currently Reading:

I’ve been trying my hardest to finish a book this week, but I’ve been swamped. I’m currently reading Jessica Khoury’s Origin. I’m trying to slowly read it pieces at a time, and then I get sucked in and zoom through several chapters. Nonetheless, that update will probably come very soon. On to my week…

This week!:

I had the opportunity to attend the Fay B Kaigler Children’s Book Festival at the University of Southern Mississippi. I attended the festival last year and enjoyed it, so I was glad to be able to go back. In fact, this time I even presented a workshop at the festival and was able to share different ideas for things teachers or librarians can teach parents on how to work with their children on reading. As a first year teacher/librarian this presentation was slightly daunting, but I loved it and ended up getting positive feedback. 

The biggest part of the festival is talks from different authors. The featured medallion winner this year was Christopher Paul Curtis. My mom was excited because Bud, Not Buddy is her favorite book, so she loved getting to meet him and get her book signed. There were also talks from Kathy Appelt, MT Anderson ( who was HILARIOUS!), Leda Schubert, and David Small and Sarah Stewart. I loved Anderson’s talk since his books lean more towards YA than the other authors. Small and Stewart were also great and were an amazing view of what love and a marriage should look like…not that that is why they were there. I’m just saying though, I want to be like them when I’m married. 

Next year though…DAVID LEVITHAN is going to be at this festival!! I geeked out when I saw the flyer announcing next year’s speakers. My mom and several other ladies I spoke to had no idea who he is, but I made sure to tell the person in charge of the festival how crazy excited I am for him. 

In all, if you live in the south then I highly recommend attending this conference sometime!

-Melanie

One thought on “Update on my week

  1. The conference sounded awesome! And ahhh! Yes, I am excited for you to have David Levithan come next year! He is awesome. He hosted a panel at an author event I went to recently and he is so hilarious, kind, and inspiring.

    By the way, I nominated you for the Liebster Award! If you would like to participate the rules and information are over on my latest post: http://jennylikesbooks.com/2014/04/14/in-which-you-learn-everything-about-me/

    I hope life slows down a little bit for you in the coming days!

Leave a Reply

