Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Book Info:

Author: E. Lockhart

Publication date: May 13, 2014

Publisher: Random House

Summary from Amazon:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.
 
We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

My Review:

 

OH. MY. GOODNESS. 

I keep telling people that I’m already wondering if this will already be my favorite book that I will read this year. 

I saw some other review that said that they didn’t like the choppy writing style. For me- that is what I found most interesting. It gave me a hint, of sorts, that something huge and abrupt was going to happen. I never would have guessed what was going to happen. Just know that We Were Liars is more than a story about a bunch of rich kids spending summers on an island. Random House is genius for promoting the book in a way that does not go too far into the plot. This way, the reader goes in blind and has no idea what to expect. I only knew that something had to be happening the way that the plot and story kept jumping around to different summers. I had to keep reading because I needed to know.

When I finally reached the book’s climax, I just stared at the page for a few minutes trying to process what had happened. In fact, I finished it days ago and I’m still trying to process it. 

Do yourself a favor and get We Were LIars when it releases in May!

 

2 thoughts on “Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Leave a Reply

