Book Review: In the After by Demitria Lunetta

Image

 

Book Summary for Amazon:

 

In debut author Demitria Lunetta’s heart-pounding thriller, one girl must fight for her survival in a world overrun by violent, deadly creatures. Perfect for fans of New York Timesbestsellers like The 5th Wave and Across the Universe.

Amy Harris’s life changed forever when They took over. Her parents—vanished. The government—obsolete. Societal structure—nonexistent. No one knows where They came from, but these vicious creatures have been rapidly devouring mankind since They appeared. With fierce survivor instincts, Amy manages to stay alive—and even rescues “Baby,” a toddler who was left behind. After years of hiding, they are miraculously rescued and taken to New Hope. On the surface, it appears to be a safe haven for survivors. But there are dark and twisted secrets lurking beneath that could have Amy and Baby paying with not only their freedom . . . but also their lives.

 

My Review:

     First of all, HUGE THANKS to Demitria Lunetta for having a twitter giveaway right before the release as that’s how I won my copy.

     Anyways–I loved this book! I couldn’t put it down. In fact, I was reading it on Christmas Eve and carried it to my family Christmas because it was either that or not go. I didn’t really know much about what the book was about going into it, but I was excited because of all of the positive feedback. 

   Characters—I really liked Amy. She never gave in–even in the Ward, she tried to stand her ground and be strong. She had a good “voice” that kept the story going at a strong pace. The language she and Baby made and their relationship made for a great addition that added more emotion. However, New Hope is where the story really got going. It was interesting to see how the city worked, what was going on, and to learn what had really happened…and who had caused it to happen. 

   I loved the relationship between Amy and Rice, so I’m hoping that, somehow, that builds in book 2. In fact, there are  a lot of things that I’m hoping happen in book 2. I JUST finished the book and I’m already waiting  and counting down until the release in June. I’m just hoping that it is as exciting and creepy as this one.

5/5 Stars!

Review: Legend by Marie Lu

Image

Summary from Amazon


What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills

Review:

     I keep saying that I’m going to quit reading Dystopian books. They’ve been so overdone the last couple years, but I’d been wanting to read Legend for awhile, so I gave it a try and was not disappointed.

   Going in, I didn’t even know much about Legend–just that I kept hearing good things about it. 

   Legend starts out with action immediately. That’s the kind of thing I need when I’m starting a book that I don’t know anything about! The action rarely lets up and holds the reader’s attention to the fullest.

I previously wrote about the alternating point of views. I enjoyed getting to know what both Day and June were thinking and it was the perfect way to keep the story flowing. 

I’m not going to keep this long since I’d already posted a mini-review on it, but I will say that I kept enjoying it and that I do highly recommend it. Legend is currently $2.99 on kindle, so it is a great deal for an amazing story!

My next read is Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer. I got this one on my kindle months ago and forgot about it until I purchased it for my library recently and got to flipping through it. That post should come soon since I’m off work for the next two weeks! …gotta love teacher/school breaks! What are you Christmas reads?

-Melanie

SA Bodeen’s The Fallout

I loved The Compound.

I sat completely content for about 4 or 5 hours read it straight through.

I immediately wanted to read its companion, The Fallout, but I let other books come first.

I’ll honestly say that I didn’t know what expect from The Fallout after the ending to The Compound. It really COULD have stood on its own, but Bodeen decided to grace us with a “here’s what happened next.” I enjoyed getting to see how the family adjusted to their life outside of the compound- especially the reconnecting of Eddy and Eli. The ending was a tiny bit predictable, but that is not a complaint because it is sort of what I was hoping would happen. (One thing did throw me for a loop though!)

My ONLY complaint is that I now want another “what happens next.” At the very least, I want a novella or something. Is it too much to ask? The Compound got me so invested in these characters that I genuinely do what to know what happens to them! I’m not nearly as connected to most book characters as I am to these. It was just too interesting for me not to know.

That said, Ms. Bodeen—I’m waiting. 🙂

What next?

I’m almost done with Legend and still love it! That said, I’m trying to decide what is next. I’m not buying anything new until I whittle my TBR pile down a bit. My next book will then have to be something I already have or a netgalley arc.

SO—here are the titles I’m considering next—let me know if there is something I should choose:

The Uglies– Scott Westerfield
Tumble and Fall
Defy (e-arc…comes out in January!)
Meant to Fall—Lauren Morrill
The Fallout– SA Bodeen

Anything I should choose first?

Thoughts on Marie Lu’s Legend

Image So this isn’t a review as much of a reflection seeing as how I’m not yet done with the book. I just have to point out a few things about Legend. 

#1: Point of View:

A certain book (that I won’t call out) recently caught flak for the way it had alternating narrators but was lacking in differences between the two voices. Legend is not like that at all! Sure, each chapter names the narrator and there are visual differences, but there are strong differences in characters to the point that I would know who is narrating even if the chapter heading did not tell me. 

#2: Setting:

I’m almost tired of dystopian novels, but this is quickly redeeming the genre for me. The world is harsh and the reader can sense the excitement and danger. 

All this said, I’m already recommending Legend to others even though I’m not yet done with the novel. Here’s the summary if anyone hasn’t heard of it:

Summary:

Publication Date: November 29, 2011
New York Times bestseller!

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.