Book Review: The Compound

Image Summary taken from Amazon: 

Publication Date: April 29, 2008
 
Eli and his family have lived in the Compound for six years.
 The world they knew is gone.
 Eli’s father built the Compound to keep them safe. Now, they can’t get out.
 He won’t let them.
 

My Review: 

I read The Compound over just a couple hours yesterday afternoon. As in…I started and then- the next thing I knew- I was done. I could not put it down. I couldn’t get over how intrigued I was…yet also, how insanely creeped out I was.

Eli’s father convinced his family that they were going to stay in an underground compound to stay safe during a nuclear attack. He took the family and left out the children’s grandmother and Eli’s twin brother Eddy. Little-by-little the family realizes that there never was an attack and that Eli’s father and been building lie-upon-lie for his family. When they try to escape, he already has another plan.

The Compound is just one of those books that, while it is a quick read, sticks around. I found myself thinking ahead and considering different outcomes. I already have the second book, The FallOut, and am anxious to start it and learn what becomes of Eli and his family when they rejoin the real-world. I’m going to say that is not a spoiler because I didn’t share any details between now and then. 

All in all, I recommend The Compound who wants a quick, thrilling read to escape the everyday!

 
 
Leave a Reply

