Review: This Song Will Save Your Life

thissong

Summary from Amazon:

Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing.

Told in a refreshingly genuine and laugh-out-loud funny voice, Leila Sales’ THIS SONG WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE is an exuberant novel about identity, friendship, and the power of music to bring people together.

My Review:

First of all, thanks to Fierce Reads for sending me this in a prize pack! I’d been wanting to read this since hearing about it over the summer and was glad for it to arrive in the mail. Elise was a different character. She tried SO hard to gain popularity, but her plans to move up the social ladder just weren’t as on-target as she hoped they would be. In fact, a last-resort attempt at suicide just lands Elise even LOWER down the popularity scale. I think that Elise might be a good voice to many teenage girls due to her attempts at popularity and her eventual lesson. I loved the other characters though. I found myself rooting for Vicky right along with Elise. I also had hopes for Char, but I won’t spoil that ending 😉 All in all, Elise learns what she really wanted in life–and that ultimately leads to what, I think, provides a great lesson for the reader and  is the exact thing makes this book so special. So many teenagers need to learn from Elise’s journey- follow what YOU want and see your acceptance in those who love you, not in those you WANT to love you. The people who really care will be there the entire time. I’m so thankful to have had the chance to read This Song even though I’m older than Elise.

I highly recommend This Song to anyone around Elise’s age or even those who need the reminder of how hurtful teenagers can be. I know that the book is a reality for some and this can be a huge reminder.

Great job, Ms. Sales!

One thought on “Review: This Song Will Save Your Life

Leave a Reply

