Review: The Selection

Image 

My Review:

Why did I put off this book for so long? I made a vow to myself before I started The Selection that I wouldn’t buy anymore books until I’d dwindled down my list of new books. I’m now wishing that I hadn’t said that because I’m now dying for the second book, The Elite. 

America is such a fun character! I loved her determination and her reasoning for everything she ever did. Her attitude was perfect in a sea of girls who were there to fight for the crown. 

I still can’t decide if I like Aspen. I GET his reasoning- I really do, but he still ticks me off and is no comparison to Maxon. I’ve said time and time again that I’m a sucker for anything remotely close to a fairytale and this is no exception. The Selection has great characters, an awesome story idea, and a pacing that flowed smoothly and quickly. I turned page after page and zoomed through easily and quickly. In fact, the only complaint I have is that I DON’T have The Elite waiting for me! I will also add that I’ve seen a couple complaints about how they don’t understand the backstory. It was thoroughly explained, in my opinion, and provided a strong substance to the world of pretty dresses and girls wanting to be the princess. The rebels were also a good addition and I’m assuming that we’ll see more of them in the future. 

 

Next Read:

In keeping with my “only read books I already own but haven’t read” I’m now reading This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales and am so far loving it, so look for that soon!

 

Leave a Reply

