Some Quiet Place–review

Image Summary taken from Amazon:

I can’t feel sadness, anger, or fear. I can’t feel anything. I’ve grown talented at pretending.

Elizabeth Caldwell doesn’t feel emotions . . . she sees them in human form. Longing hovers around the shy, adoring boy at school. Courage materializes beside her dying friend. Fury and Resentment visit her abusive home. They’ve all given up on Elizabeth because she doesn’t succumb to their touch. All, that is, except beautiful Fear, who sometimes torments her and other times plays her compassionate savior. He’s obsessed with finding the answer to one question: What happened to Elizabeth to make her this way?

They both sense that the key to Elizabeth’s condition is somehow connected to the paintings of her dreams, which show visions of death and grief that raise more questions than answers. But as a shadowy menace begins to stalk her, Elizabeth’s very survival depends on discovering the truth about herself. When it matters most, she may not be able to rely on Fear to save her.

 MY REVIEW:

I absolutely loved this book. I was excited for it leading up to its release because it seemed like an interesting. Needless to say, I was not let down. I actually received the book in a package from the publisher Flux Books (fyi, they may be one of my new favorite publishers. I have read several things from them lately and enjoyed every one!). Anyways, I was PUMPED to find the book in that package since I’d been dying to read it. However, as I’ve said lately, I haven’t had much time to read lately and it had to take a back burner. SQP took me almost 2 weeks to finish just because I don’t have time to sit down and read it. Rest assured though- every free moment I found was devoted to finishing the book. Now—on to my actual thoughts….

SQP was such a fresh, original idea. A girl who can’t feel emotions, but sees them as people? I’d never heard anything like that before. I love when I find a book that is actually a new idea and not just a copy of everything else out there. Elizabeth may not have been able to feel emotions, but I hurt for her. The poor girl had such a rough time and couldn’t FEEL anything. She knew that she should have which just made it that much worse. The author did an amazing job of making me sympathize for Elizabeth since she couldn’t feel the emotions herself.

Pacing—I never felt like anything was just filler or got bored. I kept wondering what would be next and when we would find out what was “wrong” with Elizabeth.

The Ending–not the spoil anything, but let’s just say that I was surprised. I didn’t predict the ending at all. I’m happy that it wasn’t what I thought it was! Also, going into the book I didn’t realize that SQP was the start of a series. I’m ready for book 2 right now…but it comes out next summer. However, it COULD be read as a stand alone if it just absolutely had to be.

All in all, I can’t recommend this enough. Like I said, I’m excited for book 2 already. Look into this book so that I can have people to discuss it with!

Leave a Reply

