No time to read :(

So I’m a librarian with no time to read. I’ve been slowly working trough Marissa Meyer’s Scarlet, but only at a pace of maybe 2 chapters a day. It isn’t easy to get up at 4:45 each morning and then stay awake to read when I get home from work. I’m trying though.

I’ve been revisiting some old favorite lately through my 5th and 6th grade classes. Each week I highlight a different book and read a chapter or two so that the kids get a feel for the book. So far, I’ve read parts of Holes by Louis Sachar and Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli. Those were two of my favorites in middle school, so I love introducing them to my students. I’m also reading Sideways Stories from Wayside School to my 2nd graders. They come in BEGGING for me to read it and I’ve heard, “wow, chapter books are cool!” That’s exactly why I’m reading it to them. I want them to know that “big kid” books can be just as funny and cool as their picture books.

Next, send me some new release suggestions if you have any! I’m getting ready to set up some orders for my library and would love to hear what has struck a chord with everyone lately.

Leave a Reply

