Review: The Fault in Our Stars

Info:

Author: John Green

Length: 337 Pages

Publisher: Penguin

Purchase: ****** Amazon Link ****

My Review:

Am I allowed to give this a 10/5?

I had to let TFiOS sit around in my brain over 24 hours before I could form a coherent post. I’m a John Green fan, but it took me forever to get around to reading this. I’m glad it took me awhile because I was able to see the reactions from others and think, “oh, come on…it can’t really be THAT good.” It IS “THAT good.”

I’m a masochist for sad storylines. TFiOS is told from the POV of 16 Y/O Hazel, a cancer patient who is in terribly poor condition. Her parents urge her to attend a local support group as a way to make friends. At one particular meeting, Hazel meets Augustus Waters. Augustus lost a leg due to a previous bout with cancer, but seemed otherwise healthy. As would be expected–the two fall in love. —That wasn’t a spoiler…come on.

Without giving away too much, I will say that TFiOS is heartbreaking, hilarious, and still shows a realistic view of what cancer does to the body. Hazel and Gus are both terribly optimistic given their circumstances. Their friend Isaac is also usually optimistic and frequently makes jokes at his own expense. What else are they supposed to do?

But it is the ending. And some of the things that are said. ….but mostly that ending. Like I said, it took me a day to let the book boil over in my mind, but I’m still a blubbering mess just thinking about it. I highly recommend it to any late comers such as myself who may have not jumped on the train already. A movie is in the works and Hazel has already been cast, but I still want to nominate myself for the role…you know, just in case the actress has something come up and has to quit?

-M

**side note: it is only 3.99 on Kindle right now, so there’s that 🙂

Image

Leave a Reply

