Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Summary: 

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

 

My Review: 4.5/5

I’m not sure what took me so long to read Cinder. If there are two things that I love in the world of fiction then it is SciFi and Fairy Tales. Cinder combines my two loves and makes a unique story that loosely borrows from the story of Cinderalla.

Characters: CINDERLLA. AS. A. CYBORG MECHANIC. I loved Cinder- she was such a hardcore, tough girl lead. I enjoyed her relationship with Peony and Iko. A nice stepsister was a good twist.

Can Iko be my robot BFF?

Prince Kai—holla. I’m right here, sir! I was so rooting for him. He was so kind and torn as to how best serve his country as emperor. I can’t wait to see what is next for him and Cinder.

Concept: The lunar idea was very unique. I’m still figuring it all out and hope that more will be revealed about the world in Scarlet. I liked the brief cameo from Cress–has anyone else pictured Oswin Oswald a-la Asylum of the Daleks? No- just me?

Anyways- I highly, highly recommend Cinder. I tried going to bed around midnight last night after reading a couple of chapters, but my brain decided not to shut down until I picked up my kindle and finished.

Image

One thought on “Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

