Book Review: Twisted by Sara Shepard

Summary from Amazon:

July 5, 2011 Pretty Little Liars (Book 9)

It’s been a year since the torturous notes from A stopped and the mystery of Alison DiLaurentis’s disappearance was finally put to rest. Now seniors in high school, Aria, Spencer, Hanna, and Emily are older, but they’re not any wiser. The pretty little liars have more secrets than ever—twisted secrets that could destroy the perfect lives they’ve worked so hard to rebuild.

Aria’s jealous of her boyfriend’s new exchange student. Spencer’s getting a little too cozy with her soon-to-be-stepbrother. Hanna’s one scandalous photo away from ruining her dad’s Senate campaign. And Emily will do anything to get a swim scholarship.

Worst of all: Last spring break in Jamaica, they did something unforgivable. The girls are desperate to forget that fateful night, but they should know better than anyone that all secrets wash ashore . . . eventually.

My Review: 3.5/5

Hi, I’m Melanie and I have a weak spot for all things Pretty Little Liars. There. I said it.

Moving on…since I started watching PLL a year ago I have slowly been working my way through Sara Shepard’s series of books that the show originated from. I saw slowly, but this is book 9. Anywho, this is easily my favorite of the series so far. It seems like Shepard’s writing style improves with each book. The first book (SPOILER: If you’ve seen the pilot episode of PLL then you can skip the first book and be A-OK.) showed a ton of immaturity from the girls, but Twisted has the girls in their senior year and a world away from book 1.

In fact…I was confused when I started. I referred back to book 8 a few times just to be sure that I hadn’t accidentally skipped a book. The girls are no longer speaking and, as the summary said, they did something unforgivable in Jamaica last spring break. WAIT—What? I know. Piece by piece we learn what happened and the girls are slowly brought back together. The girls’ time apart is slightly shared, but (I’m told) is shared in a later book. OUT OF SYNC.

I know, this all sounds like I didn’t like the book. First–WHO IS -A?!?! Second–again, this was my favorite BECAUSE of all of the confusion. It kept me on my toes because I felt like I was having to figure everything out WITH the girls for once. I’m just as lost as the girls and am ready to read book 10.

Thanks, Sara Shepard, for ruining my life. 😉

-M

51UXqMFNhOL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Leave a Reply

