Divergent by Veronica Roth

I can’t count the number of people who have tried to get me to read this over the past year. I know that at least four people consistently tried. However, my to-read list is forever long and I hate to bump things to the top of the list. That said, I finally broke down and bumped Divergent to the top of my list, and I’m glad that I did. I absolute adored The Hunger Games when I read it, so I couldn’t belive it when I kept being told that this is actually BETTER. It is better.
Divergent is another Dystopian series that sees the former city of Chicago seperated into 5 different factions. Each faction is known for a different trait (selflessness, bravery, knowledge, honesty, and kindness). At the age of 16, teenagers are given a test to learn their traits and are then allowed to choose to swap to a different faction and forever abandon their families or to remain in their current faction. The story centers around Beatrice and her choices upon turning 16. The book is amazing. Sometimes I say that I can’t put a book down, but this time I really mean it! I started it Saturday night for an hour, didn’t read on Sunday night, and then read ALL DAY on Monday. I wouldn’t stop until I was finished. I had to know what was happening to these characters! At the end, I felt emotionally drained. Part of me wanted to immediately start reading the next book, Insurgent, but the grown-up in me knew that I had to get up for work this morning.
I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoyed The Hunger Games and Dystopian stories in general. You will enjoy it because this book is exciting and well written. I’m already plotting what will happen in book 2 since I don’t have the time to start it until later this afternoon.

3 thoughts on “Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. Finally, someone that agrees with me! I was obsessed with The Hunger Games, so were my friends, and when I told them this trilogy was better, they refused to believe it. But it is better than The Hunger Games! Insurgent was amazing, also! 🙂

Leave a Reply

